One Kitchen Lesson

The place where I work is in the heart of Thimphu town. During lunch break, as I don’t bring any lunch , I usually eat out at Dil Maya Restaurant, an eatery opposite to my office. Believe me or not, I have never seen a restaurant always full of customers such as this. People wait in queue to eat there, know not why. 

During one of these lunch breaks, I visited the restaurant. And, as said, it was houseful. I scanned around thinking, the restaurant is really doing well.

Meanwhile, ‘Gainey Dajai’ a song by Trishna Gurung, a Nepali pop singer, soothed me as I drifted off in the life around me. Checking phones, I waited for the order.

Or is it because Lhotsampa knows how to cook meals with their spices? I raised my head off the screen again.
Few minutes, my order descended on the table; full course rice with bean datsi. It was very sumptuous, no wonder the restaurant is always occupied.
After the meal, I stood up from the table and padded towards the water basin to wash my hands off. But, as I returned from the basin to pay the bill at the counter, I accidentally saw something in the mid way walking between the basin and the counter. I paid the bill, and scuttled away.

Reaching the office, I reflected on this particular observation I had seen inside the kitchen at Dil Maya Restaurant. There was this rigorous cooking going on inside the kitchen – an element of hard work.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started